How To Watch Dragon Ball In Order?
By Kaya

Dragon Ball is such an amazing saga and a franchise encompassing manga, novels, episodes, and films. It has all the elements of feeling in it. It tries to follow the journey of Goku and How he matured as a grown person with time. Dragon Ball has made 40 years in the anime fandom, following such a long legacy of films, series and manga can be overwhelming. However, Good for you, I will make the order much better and tolerable for you. Here’s the correct order and extra info about this amazing anime:

The different forms of Dragon Ball

As far as the Dragon Balls are concerned the series franchise metamorphosizes dragon balls and says How there lie 7 dragon balls. They are different and have multiple strengths in their domain. The realization of How strong they are can be realized through the fact that each of these balls is spread in 7 different locations. Any person who can collect the balls from different locations will have the ability to get their wishes fulfilled by a dragon.

There is also a term called cooling time in Dragon Ball Z. What it means is that every Dragon Ball that has fulfilled someone’s wish when they have to activate again will have a cooling period. As you see in the case of the Earth Dragon Ball, once the wish is granted, it lays bare for one complete year. Here are other pertinent Dragon Balls that remain in vogue:

The First Dragon Balls

  • Earth Dragon Ball has a cooling period of 1 year and it is exactly the size of a Basketball.
  • Namek Star Dragon Ball is 10 times the size of Earth’s Dragon Ball. It has a cooling time of 130 days.

Both these dragon balls are original low-energy Dragon Balls. The Dragon Balls are the size of a planet and they were far bigger and stronger than other Dragon Balls. These Dragon Balls are also termed Super Dragon Balls.

Super Dragon Balls

  • Demon World Dragon Balls have a cooling time of 1 year.

Dragon Balls that can grant wishes without an immediate cooling time:

  • Black Star DragonBall is the most powerful Dragon Ball with no cooling time. These balls have a temporary black star. One can think of them as an occult-based ball that helps the emergence of a red dragon that can consume half of the plane through its wrath.
  • Cyrillic Star Dragon Balls are another category of Dragon Balls that have no cooling time and hence expand and miss again. No Dragon Ball can escape the Radar except the Cyrlic Star DragonBall.

How to watch Dragon Ball in order?

For a better understanding of the series, First of all, let’s prepare a list of Dragon Ball Z releases per the themes, whether OVA, Films, or series, and then understand the deeper timeline that fixates the order of the show.

Anime Series

  • Dragon Ball (1986)
  • Dragon Ball Z (1989-1996)
  • Dragon Ball GT (1996-1997)
  • Dragon Ball Z Kai (2009-2011)
  • Dragon Ball Super (2015-2018)

Dragon Ball Anime Movies

  • Dragon Ball: Curse of the Blood Rubies (1986)
  • Dragon Ball: Sleeping Princess in Devil’s Castle (1987)
  • Dragon Ball: Mystical Adventure (1988)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Dead Zone (1989)
  • Dragon Ball Z: The World’s Strongest (1990)
  • Dragon Ball Z: The Tree of Might (1990)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Lord Slug (1991)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Cooler’s Revenge (1991)
  • Dragon Ball Z: The Return of Cooler (1992)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Super Android 13! (1992)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Broly – The Legendary Super Saiyan (1993)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Bojack Unbound (1993)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Broly – Second Coming (1994)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Bio-Broly (1994)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Fusion Reborn (1995)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Wrath of the Dragon (1995)
  • Dragon Ball: The Path to Power (1996)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Gods (2013)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection ‘F’ (2015)
  • Dragon Ball Super: Broly (2018)

Dragon Ball OVAs

  • Dragon Ball Z: Atsumare! Gokuu World (1992)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Plan to Destroy the Saiyajin (1993)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Plan to Eradicate Super Saiyans OVA Remake (2010)

Dragon Ball Special Content

  • Dragon Ball Specials (1988)
  • Dragon Ball Z Special 1: Bardock, The Father of Goku (1990)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Summer Vacation Special (1992)
  • Dragon Ball Z Special 2: The History of Trunks (1993)
  • Looking Back at it All: The Dragon Ball Z Year-End Show! (1993)
  • Dragon Ball GT: A Hero’s Legacy (1997)
  • Dragon Ball: Yo! The Return of Son-Goku and Friends!! (2008)
  • Dragon Ball Z Kai: Bring Peace to the Future! Goku’s Spirit is Eternal (2011)
  • Dragon Ball: Episode of Bardock (2011)
  • Dragon Ball Super: Broly – Skytree Super (2018)

Here’s the Chronology List of Dragon Ball Z:

  • Dragon Ball
  • Dragon Ball Z: Dead Zone (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 1-86
  • Dragon Ball Z: Bardock — The Father of Goku (TV Special)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 87-107
  • Dragon Ball: Episode of Bardock (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z: The World’s Strongest (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z: The Tree of Might(movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Lord Slug* (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 108-123
  • Dragon Ball Z: The History of Trunks (TV special)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 124 and 125
  • Dragon Ball Z: Cooler’s Revenge(Movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 126-146
  • Dragon Ball Z: Super Android 13 (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 147-173
  • Dragon Ball Z: The Return of Cooler (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Broly – The Legendary Super Saiyan (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z to episodes 174-194
  • Dragon Ball Z: Bojack Unbound (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 195-207
  • Dragon Ball Z: Broly’s Second Coming (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 208-250
  • Dragon Ball Z: Bio-Broly (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 251-253
  • Dragon Ball Z: Fusion Reborn (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 254-288
  • Dragon Ball Z: Wrath of the Dragon (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Z episodes 289-finish
  • Dragon Ball GT, all episodes
  • Dragon Ball Super episodes 1-3
  • Dragon Ball Z: Battle of the Gods (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Super episodes 4-18
  • Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection F (movie)
  • Dragon Ball Super episodes 19-finish
  • Dragon Ball Super: Broly (movie)
  • Dragon Super Dragon Ball Heroes

Where can I watch Dragon Ball Z?

All the Platforms have some contribution and aspect to Dragon Ball Z. On Hulu, the movie listing, series, and show lists are relatively bigger. Other platforms like HBO Max has movies like Dragon Ball Z (Battle of Gods), and the same can be said about Disney Plus. Amazon Prime, Funimation, and Crunchyroll also have an enormous amount of content.

How many episodes of Dragon Ball?

Dragon Ball Series has its episodes to show for the entire franchise. Dragon Ball the early series had a total of 153 episodes Then Dragon Ball Z had 291 episodes. Dragon Ball GT has 64 episodes. Dragon Ball Super had 131 episodes and Super Dragon Ball had 34 episodes.

Related Articles:

How many seasons of Dragon Ball?

In total Dragon Ball mainly has 5 key seasons. Dragon Ball, Dragon Ball Z, Dragon Ball GT, and Super Dragon Ball.

The best way to watch Dragon Ball

Dragon Ball is so interesting as a show. You can watch the movies independently. But make sure to watch the DragonBall series in order.

How Can I store Dragon Ball on My Device?

For storing any media content on your device there is need of downloading that content from online source. But, most of the premium OTTs don’t allow downloading content from their platform.

But, you can still download and store movies and videos on your device. Yes, you can store Dragon Ball or any other content on your device. For that, you need a third party downloader, and the best one out there is Crunchyroll Downloader which enables you to download media content from Crunchyroll website. Additionally, it offers downloading media content from most of the popular OTTs.

Final Words

Dragon Ball is an amazing series, movie, and anime. Make sure to watch it sequentially. You will have a blast.