It is now possible to delete your Instagram account from within the Instagram program itself. In this essay, we will show you how to delete Instagram account.
In June 2022, in order to comply with the amended guidelines that Apple implemented for the App Store, Instagram introduced a new feature that gave users the ability to cancel their accounts.
Up until very recently, the only way to delete your Instagram account was via logging in to your account using a desktop or mobile computer browser. However, Apple instructed developers that beginning on June 30, 2022, apps that let the creation of accounts must also include the ability to cancel accounts. As a result, Instagram was required to incorporate the feature.
You need to know that if you delete your account, everything associated with it, including your profile, images, videos, comments, likes, and followers, will be removed forever.
You have a period of thirty days after requesting the deletion of your account during which you can change your mind about deleting it. During this time, you will be able to go back into Instagram and undo your request to delete your account.
It is important to keep in mind that, rather than permanently deleting your Instagram account, you have the option of temporarily deactivating it. This will cause all of your material to be hidden until you log in to your account again and enable it.
Step 1: Launch the Instagram app, and navigate to your account there. After that, you should click the icon that looks like three lines in the top right corner of the screen.
Step 2: After selecting Settings, go to the Account tab.
Step 3: Selecting the Delete account option.
Instagram will recommend deactivating your account rather than removing it. Your profile will remain hidden when you deactivate it, but you can activate it again at any moment. Go ahead and select the "Delete account" option if you are sure you still want to get rid of the Instagram account for good.
Because Instagram wants to minimize unintended deletions and irate users, the process is drawn out, which you could say is either annoying or a good thing. You can't really win either way.
Instagram queries your decision to delete it. It is imperative that you provide your password in addition to submitting your response. If you click the Delete @username option on this page, your account will be deleted completely.
Your Instagram profile won't be viewable on the platform anymore, but you have a month to change your mind and reactivate your account if you so choose. After that, there is no trace of it left at all.
In contrast to the version available for iPhones, the official Instagram app for Android does not, as of yet, have a function that enables users to delete their accounts. It seems strange, but there is no need to worry about it; all you need to do is launch a browser and adhere to the instructions that are listed below.
If the Instagram app isn't accessible for usage on your current phone or if you have an Android device, you can deactivate your account through any web browser. This option is also available.
The steps that are outlined further down are also applicable to mobile browsers (e.g. Safari or Chrome on your phone).
- The first thing you should do is go to www.instagram.com and log in to your account there.
- Step two is to go to the page where you can delete your account.
- Make sure the deletion was successful.
Check that the username is the same as the one associated with the account you want to remove. If this is the case, pick the Log out option on the right side of the screen to exit Instagram. You may then come back at a later time and sign in using the correct account.
In the next screen, you'll be asked to enter your Instagram password along with the reason you want to delete your account. If you select Delete @username at the bottom of the page, your account will be removed from the system for good.
If you have any reservations about canceling your Instagram account permanently, you should postpone doing so until you have resolved those concerns. Deactivated accounts, on the other hand, can be easily restored, while deleted accounts are removed from the site in an irreversible manner (after the 30 day grace period).
Deactivation is something you should consider doing for the majority of people, even if you plan on leaving it dormant for a number of months or even years. It accomplishes the same thing while eliminating the possibility of experiencing regret (no one can find or access your account).
There is an extra option available, which is to switch to a private account. Postings from private accounts do not display in search results and are not available to the public on your profile; nonetheless, private accounts themselves are visible to the public. You are not required to comply with requests made by other people to follow you. Existing followers, on the other hand, will continue to have access to all of your updates and information.
To switch to a private account, open the app and navigate to the Settings menu. From there, select Privacy, and then move the slider that is located next to Private account so that it is in the on position.
Be aware that if it has been more than 30 days since you asked Instagram to deactivate your account, you won't be able to reactivate it even if you try to follow the steps outlined in this article. You will be required to create a new account given that your previous one will be deleted and there is a possibility that the username you currently use has already been taken.
If you still have 30 days remaining on your membership, you will be able to regain access to your account as well as all of the posts and direct messages associated with it. Simply navigate back to Instagram and sign in there in order to achieve this goal. You will receive a notification informing you that you have requested the termination of your account, along with the date on which your data will be erased from the system. To stop that from happening, all you have to do is select the "Keep Account" option from the drop-down menu.
You can choose to temporarily hide your account from the public by suspending it as an alternative to permanently deleting all of your photos and interactions.
Even though Meta forces you to visit Instagram through the web rather than the app, at least this time you won't have to look for a link in the help section.
Once you have logged into Instagram.com, navigate to your profile and select the Edit Profile button. If you are using a mobile browser, you will need to click the settings cog in order to acquire the option.
From there, select the option to "Temporarily disable my account" from the "Edit Profile" menu by going to the very bottom of the page. You'll need to enter your password and provide an explanation for why you want to suspend your account, just like you had to do when you deleted your account.
Simply logging in again, whether using the mobile app or the internet, will allow you to reactivate your account. You will only be able to temporarily deactivate your account once per seven days. This means that if you inadvertently log back into your profile, your previous posts will be brought back online and made accessible to your followers, at least for a short period of time.