蒂克托克有多危險?
經過 momoka
2022-11-21

Tiktok是一家由科技公司Bytedance擁有的中國應用程序; Tiktok允許用戶創建和共享簡短的視頻。該應用程序讓人聯想到Vine,這是一個類似的視頻共享平台,幾年前達到了高度。 Tiktok非常受歡迎。 這也是中國社交媒體應用程序在中國以外成功進行的。 但是,根據最近的一項調查,該應用程序的安全性還有很多不足之處。

現在,幾個機構和新聞機構都在發出警報,並報告許多浮出水面的問題。 Bytedance堅持認為,它希望遠離中國背景,以服務全球受眾,並表示將永遠不會與中國政府共享數據。但是,現在在香港引入了新的安全法,這一說法似乎是不可能的。

Tiktok的用戶群主要由兒童和青少年組成,他們被許多人認為是脆弱的群體。這是各種當局表示關注的主要原因。 但是,不僅是年輕人受到Tiktok的危險。 自2019年12月以來,由於該應用被認為是“網絡威脅”,因此不再允許美國軍事人員使用Tiktok。 歐盟隱私監管機構還決定調查Tiktok的隱私政策,甚至Reddit的首席執行官也嚴厲譴責Tiktok的做法。

VPNoverView仔細研究了Tiktok,並在其分析中包括了最新的研究。 這些發現令人不安。 與Tiktok相關的隱私風險和安全風險是嚴重的。 那麼,如何將這些風險盡可能降至最低?

Tiktok和中國政府影響的危險

Tiktok歸中國開發商Bytedance擁有。 這使許多人想知道中國政府在幕後扮演的角色。 正如華為在過去幾年中受到了嚴格的審查一樣,蒂克托克(Tiktok)因與中國的聯繫而被信任。 在中國的政治體系中,政府對公司的影響力比西方國家更大。 這意味著中國政府可以(而且可能)從用戶那裡收集數據。

中國政府並不是唯一的收集數據。 西方政府還試圖深入了解和影響社交媒體平台。 例如,美國政府經常尋求通過技術公司獲取數據。 例如,美國政府定期嘗試通過技術公司獲取數據。 美國政府是憲法國家。 但是,由於美國是憲法國家,因此有幾個保障措施和法律在某種程度上限制了政府的影響力。 儘管西方國家擁有無數的獨立隱私監督機構,但中國沒有。

黑客集團匿名聲稱Tiktok主要是作為中國政府的間諜軟件開發的。請參閱下面的推文。

TikTokについての匿名ツイート

此外,匿名 發布了一個視頻,列出了Tiktok的許多危險。他們引用了對Tiktok進行廣泛研究的資料。 Tiktok本質上是一個“社交網站”。 Tiktok本質上是針對兒童的惡意軟件。 不要使用tiktok。 不允許朋友或家人使用它。 立即刪除Tiktok [...]如果您知道有人使用Tiktok的人,請向他們解釋一下,這是由中國政府經營的惡意軟件,該軟件從事大規模的間諜活動。”

這些主張與圍繞Tiktok的最新發展是一致的。 例如,蘋果研究人員宣布Tiktok有意監視其用戶。

索賠繼續堆積,表明Tiktok是一種高度侵入性的應用,帶來了相當大的隱私風險。 Tiktok上的數據收集似乎比Facebook和Instagram等其他社交平台上的數據要高得多。這是令人驚訝的,因為Tiktok上的數據收集要比其他社交平台(例如Facebook和Instagram)高得多。 Tiktok似乎比其他社交媒體平台收集數據的規模要大得多,因為這兩家公司已經面臨著解決用戶隱私的方式的反對。 加上Tiktok的起源,使中國政府對所有這些收集的數據有深入的了解非常合理。

瀏覽器跟踪器和數據收集的危險

德國數據保護網站的調查顯示,Tiktok在設備上安裝了瀏覽器跟踪器。 這些跟踪互聯網上的所有活動。 根據BONDEDANCE,這些跟踪器被部署以識別和防止“惡意瀏覽器活動”。 但是,尚不清楚tiktok是否 也能夠使用為用戶分配獨特ID的指紋技術。這使Tiktok可以以非常有針對性的方式將數據鏈接到用戶配置文件。

不幸的是,這是由於嚴重無視隱私而發生的。也許是故意的。 例如,德國研究人員表明,當Tiktok使用Google Analytics(分析)時,IP地址不會被匿名化。這意味著在線行為直接鏈接到IP地址,該地址提供了有關用戶位置的信息,並間接地提供了有關用戶身份的信息。

此外,Tiktok對此類數據收集的推理只會提出進一步的問題。 公司的“惡意瀏覽器行為”是什麼意思? 通過跟踪器收集的數據會發生什麼? 公司為什麼收集您的IP地址? 是什麼賦予Tiktok首先搜索您的瀏覽器的權利?

間諜軟件偽裝成社交應用的危險

至少可以說,上述跟踪活動是可疑的。 Reddit和其他平台上的在線技術社區的成員認為,Tiktok有意收集用戶數據。 據稱,該應用程序本質上是以社交媒體為幌子竊取數據的一種方式。

Reddit用戶已使用反向工程來進一步了解Tiktok。 匿名引用了上述視頻中的結果。 Reddit用戶發現Tiktok收集了各種信息。

  • 智能手機硬件(CPU類型,硬件ID,屏幕尺寸,DPI,內存使用情況,存儲空間等);
  • 設備上安裝的其他應用程序。
  • 網絡信息(IP,本地IP,路由器MAC地址,設備MAC地址,Wi-Fi網絡名稱);
  • 該設備是否紮根/越獄;
  • 位置數據(僅在Tiktok的某些版本中出現),這是因為在向帖子中添加位置標籤時會自動打開的選項。

此外,該應用程序在設備上創建本地代理服務器。這正式用於“媒體轉編碼”。 但是,這是沒有身份驗證的,可以濫用。 此外,可以遠程配置對該信息的跟踪。 另外,該應用直到最近才啟動HTTPS協議。這意味著用戶數據首先不是安全的。

幾個消息來源已經獨立地說,Tiktok不過是被標記為“社交媒體”的間諜軟件,因此目前很難明確考慮使用該應用程序。 目前明確勸阻此應用程序的使用。 這是目前明確勸阻此應用程序使用的原因。 對Tiktok進行的正式調查正在進行中,但這可能需要一些時間。 在這種情況下,我們很抱歉,但我們更喜歡安全。

Tiktok的隱私政策促進了與政府和其他公司的大規模數據交流

Tiktok在其隱私聲明中指出 這是Tiktok收集有關用戶的信息。 從應用程序設置中導航到隱私政策將僅顯示完整信息的摘要。 單擊每個部分將使您進入同一文檔中更完整的描述。

在仔細檢查Tiktok的隱私政策後,可以得出結論,該應用程序背後的公司有權將所有用戶數據移交給商業實體和政府。 “如果我們合法地要求這樣做,或者是否有必要使用這種使用,我們將與執法部門,公共當局或其他組織共享您的信息,以遵守法律義務,程序或請求。”

在這裡,中國製度與其他國家的政治體系之間的差異變得顯而易見。 在中國,“如果合法要求這樣做”一詞簡單地意味著“在政府需要的時候”。 此外,您只需通過使用模擬結構設置業務實體即可獲得Tiktok用戶數據。 畢竟,隱私政策允許公司與Tiktok與實體共享所有用戶數據。

Tiktok的隱私政策的以下摘錄顯示了Tiktok如何與第三方共享您的數據

TikTok プライバシー ポリシー 法執行機関の要求

TikTok プライバシー ポリシー 売却または合併

批評家指出,即使是“我們基於合法的商業利益(...)共享您的信息的短語,也可以理解地遇到了太多侵犯隱私的機會。 這是對應用程序的其他問題,還導致一些國家考慮禁止它們。

我們向調查記者和作家瑪麗亞·熱門(Maria Genova)詢問了她對Tiktok的願景。 根據Genova的說法,Tiktok是大規模間諜活動的理想工具。 熱那亞說:“ Tiktok是大規模間諜活動的絕佳工具。 熱那亞說:“ Tiktok是大規模間諜活動的絕佳工具。 令人難以置信的是,這樣的應用程序可以從手機中提取多少信息。 (...)如果您(在一個國家)有大量下載,則可以觀察到整個人口並得出結論。”

熱那亞非常了解有關此類應用程序的最新消息,並在她的新書中寫了有關它們的文章。 “我正在寫一本專注於惡意應用程序的書,但我不想知道應用程序在沒有任何人注意的情況下更改其服務條款的頻率。 Google每年都會刪除大約一百萬個惡意應用程序,所有這些應用程序都是從Google Play商店正式下載的應用程序。 應用程序可以訪問您的整個手機,包括所有聯繫人,甚至不知道它,” 熱那亞說。

Tiktok以驚人的速度增長

儘管有許多關於蒂克托克危險的說法,但它正在迅速增長。 僅在美國,到2020年底,用戶數量將達到4540萬。 僅在美國,到2020年底,用戶數量預計將達到4540萬。 僅在美國,到2020年底,預計用戶數量將達到4540萬。在全球範圍內,據估計,到今年年底,將有8億Tiktok用戶。預計未來幾年的用戶數量將繼續增長。

以下統計預測表明,Tiktok在美國的預計增長至2024年。

米国でのアクティブな TikTok ユーザー数の予測される成長を示すグラフ

資料來源:Statista

此外,Google用戶自推出以來對Tiktok的越來越感興趣,這是他們的搜索行為所證明的。 如Google趨勢所示,下圖顯示了基於Google對Google進行的搜索數量的全球興趣。 如您所見,2019年有一些峰值,但隨後搜索穩步增加。

Google トレンドの TikTok 検索ボリューム

搜索興趣在2019年9月達到頂峰 通過以下事實解釋,調查表明,在蒂克托克(Tiktok)進行了廣泛的審查制度,有利於中國政府。該平台嚴厲地譴責了當時發生的香港抗議活動的圖像,大概是為了使抗議者的聲音保持沉默。後來得到了監護人的證實。

目前,諸如Facebook和Instagram之類的已建立平台仍然比Tiktok更具搜索量。 但是,他們的搜索量不再增加。 他們甚至可能正在下降。 另一方面,蒂克托克(Tiktok)正在迅速增長。 如果Tiktok確實確實構成了嚴重的隱私風險(並且似乎確實如此),那麼該應用程序的廣泛使用是一個主要問題。

重要的是要注意,蒂克托克目前在俄羅斯被禁止。 但是,可以使用巧妙的解決方法訪問Tiktok。

Tiktok上的隱私

用戶如何體驗tiktok?他們有意識地與應用程序共享哪些信息? Tiktok用戶必須創建一個帳戶以解鎖應用程序的所有功能。 默認選項是使用其電話號碼註冊,但他們也可以使用其電子郵件地址。 只要您使用沒有揭示您的身份的電子郵件地址,後者就隱私保護是一個更安全的選擇。

如果Tiktok問您是否想要個性化廣告,那麼您唯一的選擇是單擊“我同意”的大按鈕。 如果您不想要個性化廣告,則需要轉到設置並更改它。 實際上,許多用戶沒有花時間來執行此操作,甚至不知道這是一種選擇。 此外,默認情況下,此特定設置將被禁用,因此您需要將其打開,並且看起來好像已經將其關閉。 這樣,許多人在不知不覺中允許他們的數據用於個性化廣告。

許多隱私設置無法更改

創建帳戶後,您可以查看有限的隱私設置。 只有兩個設置可以打開或關閉。 首先,有關於廣告設置的上述設置。 其次,Tiktok的設置使用戶可以控制其與其他用戶的交互。

通過下載,安裝和使用Tiktok,您會自動同意Tiktok的隱私政策。 該政策指出,蒂克托克將 收集有關您的任何類型的信息,而無需您選擇退出 該政策指出,Tiktok被允許收集有關其用戶的所有類型信息,而無需讓他們選擇退出。 此信息包括

  • 用戶提供的數據創建帳戶。
  • 有關您使用應用程序的信息。 這包括您觀看的視頻和與您互動的其他用戶。
  • 來自Facebook,Google或Twitter的數據(如果您在其中一個平台上創建了一個帳戶)。

目前尚不清楚收集到的數據存儲在何處,使用的用途以及誰可能可以或可能無法訪問該信息。 在談論收集信息的目的時,隱私政策僅包括諸如“改善用戶體驗”和其他信息不足的措辭之類的陳述。

使用相機和麥克風

要使Tiktok正常工作,您需要訪問相機和麥克風。 由於我們在談論視頻應用程序,因此這聽起來很邏輯。 但是,沒有規格可以準確解釋如何使用這些權限。 因此,即使您沒有拍攝Tiktok視頻,Tiktok也可以從理論上使用麥克風來記錄您的對話和聲音。

其他技術公司通常使用這種技術,經常強烈反對。 例如,即使不應該進行,蘋果的Siri仍繼續記錄對話。 因此,這位iPhone和iPad的語音助手聽到的聲音超出了預期。 它將諸如“嚴肅”和“系列”之類的詞解釋為“ siri”,並將它們視為醒來並開始錄製的原因。 儘管看似無害的錯誤,但它們可以導致高度敏感的對話和數據的傳播和洩漏。

無論我們是在談論語音記錄,位置數據還是身份數據,隱私聲明中包含的歧義越多,公司必須扭曲這些聲明的可能性就越大。 這大大增加了侵犯隱私的潛力。

對Tiktok社區的危險

除了圍繞Tiktok的隱私問題,該平台還有其他威脅。 Tiktok擁有數億用戶,並不是所有的用戶都有良好的意願。 這不是一個好兆頭,因為該應用程序上的許多活動都是孩子。 這些年輕用戶可能遇到的一些危險是在線欺凌和騷擾。

荷蘭組織的賈斯汀·帕多恩(Justine Pardoen 修飾是Tiktok的另一種風險。 當成年人通過數字手段與孩子見面時,會發生在線修飾。 通常,它涉及性虐待或創造兒童色情製品(想要參與)。

最後,有無數的騙子和Tiktok的騙局嘗試。這會帶來風險,包括身份盜用。 關心孩子在線安全的父母可以始終諮詢指南,並提供有關如何在互聯網上保護孩子的提示。

我們對Tiktok危險的看法

我們在VPNoverView想知道對Tiktok正在進行的調查和研究的未來結論。 我們的編輯會定期下載並使用流行的應用程序來測試其安全性和隱私選項。 例如,我們還測試了約會應用程序Grindr和Tinder。當前的發現和圍繞Tiktok的問題足以從您的設備中刪除該應用程序。它們是否對隱私問題敏感還有待觀察。

How dangerous is TikTok?
By momoka
2022-11-21

TikTok is a Chinese app owned by technology company ByteDance; TikTok allows users to create and share short videos. The app is reminiscent of Vine, a similar video-sharing platform that reached a high a few years ago. Tiktok is extremely popular. It is also the first Chinese social media app to do this successfully outside of China. However, according to a recent survey, the security of the app leaves much to be desired.

Several agencies and news organizations are now sounding the alarm and reporting on many of the issues that have surfaced. ByteDance insists that it wants to stay away from its Chinese background in order to serve its global audience and says it will never share data with the Chinese government. But now that new security laws have been introduced in Hong Kong, this claim seems impossible.

TikTok's user base consists primarily of children and adolescents, who are considered by many to be a vulnerable group. This is the main reason why various authorities have expressed concern. But it is not only young people who are put at risk by TikTok. Since December 2019, U.S. military personnel are no longer allowed to use TikTok because the app has been deemed a "cyber threat." EU privacy regulators have also decided to investigate TikTok's privacy policy, and even Reddit's CEO has harshly condemned TikTok's practices.

VPNOverview took a closer look at TikTok and included the latest research in its analysis. The findings are disturbing. The privacy and security risks associated with TikTok are serious. So what can be done to minimize these risks as much as possible?

TikTok and the Dangers of Chinese Government Influence

TikTok is owned by Chinese developer ByteDance. This has led many to wonder about the role the Chinese government plays behind the scenes. Just as Huawei has been under intense scrutiny over the past few years, TikTok is not trusted because of its ties to China. In China's political system, the government has more influence over companies than in Western countries. This means that the Chinese government can (and probably will) collect data from users.

The Chinese government is not the only one collecting data. Western governments are also trying to gain insight into and influence social media platforms. For example, the U.S. government regularly seeks to acquire data through technology companies. For example, the U.S. government regularly tries to acquire data through technology companies. The U.S. government is a constitutional state. However, because the U.S. is a constitutional state, there are several safeguards and laws in place that somewhat limit the government's influence. While Western countries have a myriad of independent privacy watchdogs, China has none.

The hacker group Anonymous claims that TikTok was developed primarily as spyware for the Chinese government. See tweet below.

TikTokについての匿名ツイート

In addition, Anonymous released a video listing the many dangers of TikTok. They cite sources that have done extensive research on TikTok. TikTok is essentially a "social networking site. TikTok is essentially malware that targets children. Do not use TikTok. Do not allow friends or family to use it. Remove TikTok now [...] If you know someone who is using TikTok, explain to them that it is malware operated by the Chinese government, which is engaged in large-scale espionage."

These claims are consistent with recent developments surrounding TikTok. For example, Apple researchers have announced that TikTok is intentionally spying on its users.

Claims continue to pile up indicating that TikTok is a highly invasive application that poses considerable privacy risks. Data collection on TikTok appears to be far more advanced than on other social platforms such as Facebook and Instagram. This is surprising, because the data collection on TikTok is much more advanced than on other social platforms, such as Facebook and Instagram. TikTok appears to be collecting data on a much larger scale than other social media platforms, because these two companies are already facing backlash for the way they address user privacy. This, coupled with TikTok's origins, makes it very plausible that the Chinese government has insight into all of this collected data.

Browser Trackers and the Dangers of Data Collection

An investigation by a German data protection website revealed that TikTok installs browser trackers on devices. These track all activity on the Internet. According to ByteDance, these trackers were deployed to recognize and prevent "malicious browser activity. However, it is not clear whether TikTok also be able to use fingerprinting technology that assigns unique IDs to users. This allows TikTok to link data to user profiles in a very targeted way.

Unfortunately, this occurs with a gross disregard for privacy. Perhaps intentionally so. German researchers have shown, for example, that when TikTok uses Google Analytics, IP addresses are not anonymized. This means that online behavior is directly linked to IP addresses, which provide information about the user's location and indirectly about the user's identity.

Moreover, TikTok's reasoning for this type of data collection only raises further questions. What does the company mean by "malicious browser behavior"? What happens to the data collected through the tracker? Why does the company collect your IP address? What gives TikTok the right to search your browser in the first place?

The Dangers of Spyware Disguised as Social Apps

The tracking activity described above is suspicious, to say the least. Members of the online technology community on Reddit and other platforms believe that TikTok is intentionally collecting user data. The app is alleged to be essentially a way to steal data under the guise of social media.

Reddit users have used reverse engineering to further their understanding of TikTok. Anonymous cited the results in the aforementioned video. Reddit users discovered that TikTok collects all kinds of information.

  • Smartphone hardware (CPU type, hardware ID, screen size, dpi, memory usage, storage space, etc.);
  • Other apps installed on the device.
  • Network information (IP, local IP, router MAC address, device MAC address, Wi-Fi network name);
  • Whether the device is rooted/jailbroken;
  • Location data (only occurs in some versions of TikTok) due to an option that is automatically turned on when you add a location tag to a post.

Additionally, the app creates a local proxy server on the device. This is officially used for "media transcoding". However, this is done without authentication and can be abused. Additionally, tracking of that information can be configured remotely. Also, the app did not initiate use of the HTTPS protocol until recently. This meant that user data was not secure in the first place.

The fact that several sources have independently stated that TikTok is nothing more than spyware labeled as "social media" makes it difficult to explicitly consider using the app at this time. explicitly discouraging the use of this app at this time. This is a reason to explicitly discourage the use of this app at this time. An official investigation into TikTok is underway, but this may take some time. In this case, we are sorry, but we prefer to be safe.

TikTok's privacy policy facilitates large-scale data exchange with governments and other companies

In its privacy statement, TikTok states Here is the information TikTok collects about its users. Navigating to the Privacy Policy from the app's settings will show only a summary of the complete information. Clicking on each section will take you to a more complete description within the same document.

Upon closer examination of TikTok's privacy policy, one can conclude that the company behind the app is authorized to turn over all user data to both commercial entities and the government. "We will share your information with law enforcement, public authorities, or other organizations if we are legally required to do so or if such use is reasonably necessary to comply with a legal obligation, process, or request."

Here the differences between the Chinese system and the political systems of other countries become apparent. In China, the phrase "if legally required to do so" simply means "as soon as the government requires it." Furthermore, you can get your hands on TikTok user data simply by setting up a business entity using a mock structure. After all, the privacy policy allows the company to share all user data with the entities TikTok does business with.

The following excerpt from TikTok's privacy policy shows how easily TikTok can share your data with third parties

TikTok プライバシー ポリシー 法執行機関の要求

TikTok プライバシー ポリシー 売却または合併

Even phrases such as "We share your information based on legitimate business interests (...)" are understandably met with too many opportunities for privacy violations, critics point out. This, among other concerns about apps, has caused some countries to consider banning them.

We asked investigative journalist and writer Maria Genova about her vision for TikTok. According to Genova, TikTok is the perfect tool for spying on a large scale. Genova says, "TikTok is a great tool for large-scale espionage. Genova says, "TikTok is a great tool for mass espionage. It's incredible how much information such an app can extract from your phone. (...) If you have a large number of downloads [in a country], you can observe the entire population and draw conclusions from that."

Genova is well aware of the latest news surrounding such apps and writes about them in her new book. "I'm writing [a book] focused on malicious apps, but I don't want to know how often apps change their terms of service without anyone noticing. Google removes about a million malicious apps every year, all of which are officially downloadable apps from the Google Play Store. Apps can access your entire phone, including all your contacts, without you even knowing it," Genova said.

TikTok is growing at an alarming rate

Despite the many claims about the dangers of TikTok, it is growing rapidly. In the U.S. alone, the number of users will reach 45.4 million by the end of 2020. In the U.S. alone, the number of users is expected to reach 45.4 million by the end of 2020. In the U.S. alone, the number of users is expected to reach 45.4 million by the end of 2020. Globally, it is estimated that there will be 800 million TikTok users by the end of this year. The number of users is expected to continue growing in the coming years.

The following Statista projections show the projected growth of TikTok in the U.S. through 2024.

米国でのアクティブな TikTok ユーザー数の予測される成長を示すグラフ

Source: Statista

In addition, Google users have become increasingly interested in TikTok since its launch, as evidenced by their search behavior. The image below shows the growing global interest in TikTok based on the number of searches made on Google, as indicated by Google Trends. As you can see, there were some spikes in 2019, but then searches steadily increased.

Google トレンドの TikTok 検索ボリューム

Search interest peaked in September 2019, when explained by the fact that investigations showed that extensive censorship had taken place on TikTok in favor of the Chinese government. The platform harshly condemned images of protests in Hong Kong that occurred at the time, presumably in an attempt to silence the voices of protesters. This was later confirmed by The Guardian.

Currently, established platforms such as Facebook and Instagram still have more search volume than TikTok. However, their search volumes are no longer increasing. They may even be declining. TikTok, on the other hand, is growing rapidly. If TikTok does indeed pose a significant privacy risk (and it certainly seems to), widespread use of the app is a major concern.

It is important to note that TikTok is currently banned in Russia. However, it is possible to access TikTok using clever workarounds.

Privacy on TikTok

How do users experience TikTok and what information do they consciously share with the app? TikTok users must create an account to unlock all features of the app. The default option is to register using their phone number, but they can also use their email address. The latter is a slightly safer option with regard to privacy protection, as long as you use an email address that does not reveal your identity.

If TikTok asks you if you want personalized ads, your only option is to click the big button that says "I agree." If you do not want personalized ads, you will need to go to settings and change it. In fact, many users do not take the time to do this or do not even know it is an option. Furthermore, this particular setting is disabled by default, so you will want to turn it on and it will appear as if you have already turned it off . In this way, many people unknowingly allow their data to be used for personalized advertising.

Many privacy settings cannot be changed

Once you create an account, you can view your limited privacy settings. There are only two settings that can be turned on or off. First, there is the above setting regarding ad settings. Second, TikTok has settings that allow users to control their interactions with other users.

By downloading, installing, and using TikTok, you automatically agree to TikTok's Privacy Policy. This policy states that TikTok will collects any type of information about you without giving you an opportunity to opt out This policy states that TikTok is permitted to collect all types of information about its users without giving them the opportunity to opt out. This information includes

  • Data provided by the user to create an account.
  • Information about your use of the application. This includes videos you watch and other users you interact with.
  • Data from Facebook, Google, or Twitter (if you created an account on one of these platforms).

It remains unclear where the data collected is stored, what it is used for, and who may or may not have access to that information. When talking about the purpose for which the information is collected, the privacy policy simply includes statements such as "improving the user experience" and other less informative wording.

Access to Camera and Microphone

For TikTok to work properly, you need access to the camera and microphone. Since we are talking about a video application, this may sound logical. However, there is no specification that explains exactly how these permissions are used. Thus, even if you are not filming a TikTok video, TikTok could theoretically use the microphone to record your conversation and voice.

Other technology companies have used this technique, often to much backlash. For example, Apple's Siri continued to record conversations even when it shouldn't have. Thus, this voice assistant for iPhone and iPad heard more than it was intended to. It interpreted words like "serious" and "series" as "Siri" and saw them as reasons to wake up and start recording. While seemingly harmless mistakes, they can lead to the spread and leakage of highly sensitive conversations and data.

Whether we are talking about voice recordings, location data, or identity data, the more ambiguity contained in privacy statements, the greater the likelihood that the firm will have to twist those statements. This greatly increases the potential for privacy violations.

Dangers to the TikTok Community

Besides the privacy issues surrounding TikTok, there are other threats to the platform. TikTok has hundreds of millions of users, not all of whom have good intentions. This is not a good sign since many of those active on the app are children. Some of the dangers these young users may encounter are online bullying and harassment.

Justine Pardoen of Bureau Jeugd en Media, a Dutch organization that focuses on Internet safety for children, says Grooming is another risk on TikTok. Online grooming occurs when an adult comes into contact with a child through digital means with the intent of meeting the child. Often it involves sexual abuse or the creation of child pornography (wanting to get involved).

Finally, there are countless scammers and scam attempts on TikTok. This comes with risks, including identity theft. Parents concerned about their children's online safety can always consult a guide with tips on how to protect their children on the Internet.

What We Think About TikTok Dangers

We at VPNOverview would like to know the future conclusions of the ongoing investigation and research on TikTok. Our editors regularly download and use popular applications to test their security and privacy options. For example, we also tested dating apps Grindr and Tinder. current findings and concerns surrounding TikTok are reason enough to remove the app from your device. Whether they are sensitive to privacy concerns remains to be seen.