This article explains how to close your Snapchat account. You can also temporarily deactivate Snapchat, in case you decide you want to bring it back. In fact, you actually have to deactivate your account first before you can permanently delete it.
If you go into your Snapchat settings on the mobile app, you won't find anything that takes you through the process of how to delete your Snapchat account. Don't worry—it is possible to delete a Snap account, but you have to do it from a web browser.
Navigate to accounts.snapchat.com in a web browser and sign into your Snapchat account.
If you have login verification enabled, a code will be texted to your mobile device that you will need to enter it into the given field in order to sign in.
Under Manage My Account, select Delete My Account.
Enter your login details in the fields on the following page and select Continue.
Once you deactivate your account, your friends will be unable to interact with you at all through your account. Be sure you want to do this in case you want to keep up any streaks, scores, or other conversations you have going.
On the next page, you'll receive a message stating your account is in the process of being deactivated.
If you open the mobile app, you should notice that your deactivation prompt will have caused you to be automatically signed out.
To permanently delete your Snapchat account, you must wait 30 days after you deactivated your account. Your account will then be automatically deleted.
Related Reading: How To Get Discovery Plus on Xfinity?
If you change your mind about deleting your Snapchat account, you can always reactivate it, provided you do it within 30-days of deactivating it. To reactivate it, all you have to do is sign into your Snapchat account using your username (not your email address) and your password.
If you recently deactivated your account and are trying to reactivate it, you might need to wait a little while until the deactivation process is complete, which could take up to 24 hours (according to Snapchat).
If you verified your email address on your account, you should receive an email notifying you when your account has been successfully deactivated. Once you receive this, you can go ahead and sign in to your account to reactivate it.
Related Reading: How To Get Discovery Plus on Firestick?
You might want to deactivate, then delete your Snapchat account if:
- You no longer snap or chat with friends, open snaps or chats from friends, post stories, or view friends' stories.
- You want to change your Snapchat username.
- You have too many friends and want to start over with a fresh account, rather than going through them all and deleting them.
- You want to quit using Snapchat due to loss of interest, unpleasant experiences, a long-term digital detox, a change in priorities, etc.
If you're worried about sharing too much information on Snapchat, you can change several of your privacy settings to make the way you connect and the information you share more private. This way, you don't have to delete your account and start a new one.
Related Reading: Complete Guide to Philo Channels- List, Prices and More