Fandango:檢查電影的評分併購買了門票
經過 Yvonne
2022-11-23

Fandango電影評分

您期待您的約會,其中包括晚餐和電影。您的約會選擇了食物以來"它在Yelp上獲得了五星級!"但是你必須選擇這部電影。因此,您去了Fandango電影網站,以查看有什麼東西併購買了門票。你決定看"神奇四俠,"儘管您沒有'聽到了很多好事。它獲得了7,000多次評論,平均評分為3分。這將是一部可觀看的電影。

在線電影評論已經發展成為有利可圖的業務。美國票房每年為好萊塢收取大約100億美元的收入,在線評級聚合商可能對將來的錢在哪裡產生更大的影響。

開放週末糟糕的周末歸咎於爛番茄等服務,這些服務匯總了電影評論,並為他們分配了一個整體得分。單個電影評論家無法再製作或打破電影,但是成千上萬的批評家,無論是專業還是業餘,都可以做到。

包括IMDB,Metacritic和爛番茄在內的幾個網站創建了流行的評級系統。儘管這些網站'選擇和組合標準有所不同,它們都基於以下關鍵原則建立了系統:它們採用完整的評級譜,努力爭取一致性,並努力最大程度地減少評級操作。

這些評級系統儘管缺點,但聽起來足夠有用。

Fandango是NBCuniversal的一個分支,具有五星級的評分系統,幾乎沒有膠片獲得少於三顆星星。此外,Fandango的奇特方法彙總了其客戶'評論,網站上的評分甚至更高。

而且,儘管其他評論網站可能與娛樂行業有微不足道的關係,但Fandango在您希望看電影的願望中有明確的股份:該公司將門票直接出售給客戶。

這一切開始了什麼?幾個月前,一位同事在觀察到一部不好的電影對Fandango的評分公平後,就與我接觸。今年,有510部電影在Fandango.com上出售了門票,當我收集這些電影的數據時,我注意到了一些奇怪的事情:在至少一部評論的437部電影中,有98%的評級或更高的電影, 75%的評級為4星級或更高。

根據Fandango的說法'標準,電影似乎幾乎不可能失敗。

FANDANGO

當我專注於具有30次或更多用戶評估的電影時,209部電影的評分少於三星級。百分之七十八的評論被評為四顆星或以上。

還是電影的質量?也許我們所生活的文明"末底改"3.5星?

不是我們。其他網站'評論不太友善。我收集了IMDB用戶評分,metacritic'S總評級,Metacritic'S用戶得分,爛番茄評論家和用戶分數以及209部電影的爛番茄紋章計分數。然後將它們四捨五入到最近的半星,並標準化為Fandango'S五星級評分量表。

鑑於IMDB,Metacritic和腐爛的西紅柿的分數通常在同一範圍內:Fandango,這一發現並不奇怪。'S星級評級高於79%的案例IMDB評級,Metacritic總批評者得分高於77%的Metacritic用戶得分,而腐爛的西紅柿評論家得分高於腐爛的西紅柿用戶的得分。 86%的案件。

Fandango的評分可能高於競爭對手的評分有幾個原因;畢竟,如果您問人們一部電影之後'VE花了15美元在它上觀看了幾個小時,他們可能對製作更有利。也許Fandango的重大向右轉移'S Bell Curve只是看電影的人'斯德哥爾摩綜合症。

但是,這種評級系統從根本上存在缺陷。它'尚不清楚為什麼如此少的電影獲得少於三顆星的評分,而Fandango沒有't提供了解釋。"對於我們來說,猜測我們的評分可能與他們的評分有何不同是不可接受的,"Fandango通過電子郵件表示。"我們尚未分析其他網站的用戶評級系統,也無法訪問其客戶資料或交互行為。"

結果,Fandango有效地採用了3到5星級的評分系統。其評分也有其他困難。我認為,Fandango在其網站上匯總用戶評估的方法存在缺陷:他們從不折斷平均值。

在Fandango網站上,在一個地方顯示某個電影的總用戶評級:電影旁邊的星星'S海報,上方列出了放映時間的區域。在五點尺度上,使用半明星增量來表達恆星。 Fandango展示了這部電影在星級評分下收到的評論數量。

但是,可以通過從Fandango網站下載頁面的HTML來源來獲得更多信息。看一眼"TED 2。"當我在周一檢查數字時,這部電影的評論有4.5顆星。

假期的電影

誰會't想把戴維·港(David Harbour)視為約翰·麥克拉恩(John McClane)風格的聖誕老人?如果您發現它不愉快,我們將無法為您提供幫助。無論如何,根據最近的1,000多名18至24歲的電影觀眾的Fandango民意測驗'暴力之夜(12月2日(星期五)到處都是Z世代之一'S最令人期待的聖誕節電影。

其餘的四部電影是Dreamworks動畫'靴子中的貓:最後的願望(12月21日),20世紀工作室'阿凡達:水道(12月16日),迪士尼動畫'奇怪的世界(11月23日)和派拉蒙圖片'巴比倫(12月23日)。

Fandango'國內票務副總裁"我們的數據顯示,Z世代成人電影觀眾將在這個聖誕節季節在劇院看幾部電影,靈感來自新鮮的標題,這些標題需要在大屏幕上看到,"梅利莎·海勒說。"通過Black Panther:Wakanda Forever開始假期的初期,Z世代的粉絲幫助我們擁有今年最大的開幕週末預售之一。"

Violent Night (2022); Puss in Boots

令人驚訝的是,有96%的受訪者表示去看電影是他們最喜歡的消遣之一,而94%的受訪者表示他們對最近的電影經歷感到滿意。此外,有78%的回答表明Z世代(票房上最大的人口組)正在觀看大屏幕上的電影比COVID-19爆發停止售票銷售之前的電影更多。

鑑於幾年前"對於電影院和電影製片人來說"ComScore的高級媒體分析師Paul Dergarabedian說。"在整個流行病的過程中,年輕人開始喜歡並垂涎電影劇院的體驗,奇怪的是,電影院成為社交媒體影響力的主要重點,"根據報告。

據他說,阿凡達的成功:水,陌生的世界,巴比倫,暴力之夜和靴子中的成功:最後的願望將主要取決於Z世代的觀眾。假日電影季對好萊塢至關重要。在2023年和將來,現在對電影院服務至關重要。

由Dead Snow的Tommy Wirkola執導的暴力之夜將於12月2日星期五在劇院上映。Croods:由喬爾·克勞福德(Joel Crawford)執導的新時代(靴子:最後的願望)將於12月21日星期五播出。

當Fandangonow和Vudu合併時,它們形成了新的流服務

沃爾瑪(Walmart)付了1億美元在2010年購買了按需電影流提供商Vudu,但該公司無法從中獲利。次年,零售商將服務賣給了NBCuniversal'S Fandango,電影票務和發現公司。 Fandango通過將其與現有的流媒體服務Fandangonow相結合,從而與Vudu一起前進。

新統一的服務將保留Vudu的名字,其中包含超過200,000個新版本和目錄中可供出租或購買的目錄,而無需訂閱,以及"成千上萬"自由到流的標題。

該公司認為它選擇了綽號"Vudu"由於它是一個著名的品牌,擁有承諾的粉絲群,其大於Fandangonow服務。

vudu-fandango

現有的Fandangonow客戶儘管已更改了服務,但仍不會失去對已經購買的任何內容的訪問權限。他們的所有電影和電視節目將從今天開始自動轉移到新的Vudu服務。

Vudu'S按需提供目前與Apple Itunes,Amazon Prime Video,Google Play/YouTube以及來自各種電信公司的其他服務競爭。這些服務尤其誘人,他們喜歡查看新版本,並可以選擇購買他們喜歡的電影和電視節目,而不是訂閱許可協議到期時物質變化的服務。

新標題包括"F9:快速傳奇,""盧卡,""魔術:魔鬼讓我做到了,""彼得·兔子2,""殺手'妻子'S保鏢,""安靜的地方第二部分,"迪士尼's"克魯拉,""哥斯拉與孔,""在高度,"和更多。

漫威工作室電影"黑寡婦,"目前,這是女演員斯嘉麗·約翰遜(Scarlett Johansson)對迪斯尼提起的合同訴訟的主題,因為它將在開幕日直接發送給迪斯尼+的戲劇發布,也將從下週二開始向迪斯尼+發行。

Vudu的電影和電視市場已經吸引了大型內置觀眾。根據Fandango的說法,該服務由"百萬"每天的人中有超過6000萬註冊用戶。

根據NPD集團的研究,由於其廣泛的平台兼容性,它可以吸引超過7500萬電視連接的設備家庭。這包括Roku,Amazon Fire TV,Apple TV,Xfinity X1和Xfinity Flex,PlayStation,Xbox,Tivo和Vudu對三星,LG和Vizio智能電視的支持。

合併和更名後,新的Vudu服務將取代Fandangonow作為Roku平台上的官方電影商店,用戶可以在這裡使用Roku Pay租用或購買。

Fandango'當前的數字網絡現在還將包括Movietickets.com,Flixster,Movieclips和腐爛的西紅柿,除了將Vudu納入電影票務操作外。儘管兩家公司的合併消除了Fandango地區的一些重疊,但NBCU母公司Comcast仍然面臨自己的流媒體重疊問題。

康卡斯特(Comcast)於2020年2月收購了廣告支持的流媒體服務XUMO。它還管理了孔雀,這是通過NBCU提供了一年的服務。它沒有採取任何步驟來集中精力。

Fandango: Check Ratings of Movies and Bought the Tickets
By Yvonne
2022-11-23

Fandango Movies Ratings

You were looking forward to your date, which included dinner and a movie. Your date chose the food since "it garnered five stars on Yelp!" but you got to pick the movie. So you went to the Fandango movies website to check what was on and bought the tickets. You decided to watch "Fantastic Four," despite the fact that you hadn't heard many good things about it. It had earned over 7,000 reviews, with an average rating of 3 out of 5. This is going to be a watchable film.

Online movie reviews have grown into a lucrative business. The U.S. box office takes in roughly $10 billion each year for Hollywood, and online ratings aggregators may have more influence over where that money is spent in the future.

Poor opening weekends are blamed on services like Rotten Tomatoes, which aggregate movie reviews and assign them a single overall score. A single film critic can no longer make or break a film, but thousands of critics, both professional and amateur, may be able to.

Several websites, including IMDb, Metacritic, and Rotten Tomatoes, have created popular rating systems. Despite the fact that the sites' selection and combination criteria differ, they have all built systems based on the following key principles: They employ the complete rating spectrum, strive for consistency, and strive to minimize rating manipulation.

These rating systems, despite their shortcomings, are sound enough to be useful.

Fandango, a branch of NBCUniversal, has a five-star rating system, with almost no film obtaining less than three stars. Furthermore, due of the peculiar method Fandango aggregates its customers' reviews, ratings on the website are even higher as I write this.

And, whereas other review websites may have a tenuous relationship to the entertainment industry, Fandango has a clear stake in your desire to see a movie: the company sells tickets directly to customers.

What started all of this? A coworker approached me about it a few months ago after observing that a bad movie had a fair rating on Fandango. This year, 510 movies had tickets for sale on Fandango.com, and when I collected the data for those movies, I noticed something odd: of the 437 movies with at least one review, 98% had a 3-star rating or higher, and 75% had a 4-star rating or higher.

According to Fandango's standards, it seemed nearly impossible for a film to fail.

FANDANGO

When I focused on movies with 30 or more user evaluations, none of the 209 films had less than a 3-star rating. Seventy-eight percent of the reviews were rated four stars or above.

Or was it just the quality of the films? Perhaps the civilization in which we live gives "Mordecai" 3.5 stars?

Not us. Other websites' reviews were less kind. I gathered IMDb user ratings, Metacritic's aggregate critic rating, Metacritic's user score, Rotten Tomatoes critic and user scores, and the Rotten Tomatoes Tomatometer score for the 209 movies. These were then rounded up to the nearest half-star and standardized to Fandango's five-star rating scale.

This finding is not surprising given that the scores on IMDb, Metacritic, and Rotten Tomatoes were typically in the same range: Fandango's star rating was higher than the IMDb rating in 79% of the cases, the Metacritic aggregate critic score was higher than the Metacritic user score in 77% of the cases, and the Rotten Tomatoes critic score was higher than the Rotten Tomatoes user score in 86% of the cases.

There are several reasons why ratings on Fandango may be higher than those on competitors; after all, if you ask people about a movie after they've spent $15 on it and a couple hours watching it, they may have a more favorable opinion of the production. Perhaps the significant rightward shift in Fandango's bell curve is just moviegoers' Stockholm syndrome.

Nonetheless, this rating system is fundamentally flawed. It's unclear why so few films receive ratings of less than three stars, and Fandango didn't offer an explanation. "It is unacceptable for us to speculate on how our ratings may or may not differ from theirs," Fandango stated via email. "We have not analyzed the user rating systems of other sites, and we do not have access to their customer profiles or interaction behavior."

As a result, Fandango effectively employs a 3 to 5 star rating system. There are also additional difficulties with its ratings. In my opinion, the method Fandango aggregates user evaluations on their website has a flaw: they never round the average down.

On the Fandango website, the aggregate user rating for a certain movie is displayed in one place: the stars next to the movie's poster, above the area that lists showtimes. On a five-point scale, half-star increments are used to express the stars. Fandango displays the number of reviews the film has received beneath the star ratings.

More information, however, can be obtained by downloading the HTML source of a page from the Fandango website. Take a look at "Ted 2." When I checked the numbers on Monday, the film had 4.5 stars from 6,568 reviews.

Films for the Holidays

Who wouldn't want to see David Harbour as an asskicking, John McClane-style Santa Claus? We are unable to assist you if you find it unpleasant. In any case, according to a recent Fandango poll of over 1,000 moviegoers aged 18 to 24, Universal Pictures' Violent Night (available everywhere on Friday, December 2) is one of Gen Z's top five most anticipated Christmas films.

The remaining four films are DreamWorks Animation's Puss in Boots: The Last Wish (Dec. 21), 20th Century Studios' Avatar: The Way of Water (Dec. 16), Disney Animation's Strange World (Nov. 23), and Paramount Pictures' Babylon (Dec. 23).

Fandango's Vice President of Domestic Ticketing "Our data reveals that Gen Z adult moviegoers are going to watch several films at the theater this Christmas season, inspired by fresh titles that demand to be seen on the big screen," said Melissa Heller. "By starting off the holiday season early with Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, Gen Z fans helped us have one of our biggest opening weekend pre-sales this year."

Violent Night (2022); Puss in Boots

Surprisingly, 96% of survey respondents stated going to the movies was one of their favorite pastimes, and 94% indicated they were pleased with their recent moviegoing experiences. Furthermore, 78% of responses indicate that Gen Z (the largest demographic group at the box office) is watching more movies on big screens than it was before the COVID-19 outbreak halted ticket sales.

Given that, just a few years ago, it appeared that this significant and vital audience had shifted from the large screen experience to much of the available filmed entertainment on their tiny screen devices, "The fact that Gen Z viewers now adore going to the movies is wonderful news for movie theaters and filmmakers," says Paul Dergarabedian, Senior Media Analyst at Comscore. "Throughout the course of the epidemic, younger people began to like and covet the movie theater experience, and curiously have found the movie theater to become a primary focus of social media influence," according to the report.

According to him, the success of Avatar: The Way of Water, Strange World, Babylon, Violent Night, and Puss in Boots: The Last Wish will be primarily dependent on Gen Z audiences. The holiday film season is critical to Hollywood. Serving this group is critical for movie theaters now, in 2023, and in the future.

Violent Night, directed by Tommy Wirkola of Dead Snow, will be released in theaters on Friday, December 2. The Croods: A New Age, directed by Joel Crawford (Puss in Boots: The Last Wish), will air on Friday, December 21.

When FandangoNOW and Vudu merge, they form a new streaming service

Walmart paid $100 million bought the on-demand movie streaming provider Vudu in 2010, but the firm was unable to profit from it. The following year, the retailer sold the service to NBCUniversal's Fandango, a movie ticketing and discovery company. Fandango is advancing with Vudu by integrating it with its existing streaming service, FandangoNOW, today.

The newly unified service will keep the name Vudu, with over 200,000 new releases and titles from the catalog available for rent or purchase without a subscription, as well as "thousands" of free-to-stream titles.

The company argues that it chose the moniker "Vudu" since it is a well-known brand with a committed fanbase that is significantly larger than the FandangoNOW service.

vudu-fandango

Existing FandangoNOW customers will not lose access to any of their already purchased content, despite changes to the service. All of their movies and TV shows will be automatically moved to the new Vudu service beginning today.

Vudu's on-demand offering currently competes with services such as Apple iTunes, Amazon Prime Video, Google Play/YouTube, and others from various telecoms companies. These services are especially tempting to consumers who prefer to view new releases and have the option of purchasing their favorite movies and television shows rather than subscribing to services where material changes when license agreements expire.

New titles include "F9: The Fast Saga," "Luca," "The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It," "Peter Rabbit 2," "The Hitman's Wife's Bodyguard," "A Quiet Place Part II," Disney's "Cruella," "Godzilla vs. Kong," "In the Heights," and more.

The Marvel Studios film "Black Widow," which is currently the subject of a breach of contract lawsuit filed by actress Scarlett Johansson against Disney for sending what was supposed to be a theatrical release straight to Disney+ on opening day, will also be made available to it beginning next Tuesday.

Vudu already has a big built-in audience for its movie and TV marketplace. According to Fandango, the service is used by "millions" of people every day and has more than 60 million registered users.

According to NPD Group research, it can reach over 75 million TV-connected device households in the United States because to its broad platform compatibility. This includes support for Samsung, LG, and Vizio smart TVs by Roku, Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Xfinity X1 and Xfinity Flex, PlayStation, Xbox, Tivo, and Vudu.

Following the merger and rebranding, the new Vudu service will replace FandangoNOW as the official movie shop on the Roku platform, where users may rent or buy using Roku Pay.

Fandango's current digital network will now include MovieTickets.com, Flixster, Movieclips, and Rotten Tomatoes in addition to its movie ticketing operation with the inclusion of Vudu. While the merger of the two companies eliminates some overlap within the Fandango area, NBCU parent company Comcast still faces its own streaming overlap issues.

Comcast acquired the ad-supported streaming service Xumo in February 2020. It also manages Peacock, a service that has been offered for a year, through NBCU. It has failed to take any steps to focus such efforts.